Carrot Punugulu

Carrot punugulu………phew!!!!!! What’s this name? Yha……it’s true they r carrot punugulu they have carrot in them. The reason behind them is my daughter. As I am sending her to pre-school I have to send her some lunch with her, and she cannot eat rice by herself. And I am thinking of something that has a bit of nutrition value in them and she does be able to eat by herself. I never tried but I know is too small to feed by herself rice as we do and I don’t want her to be a messy child in her class. So these came into my mind as my mom used to pack these as a snack. I added 1 carrot to them and they became carrot punugulu, and they even tasted good. My little girl liked them so much. And now-a-days I am juggling over the snack recipes like these that I do be able to pack her for lunch. I am a bit relaxed because even though she has half of the snack and fruits I pack I feed her after coming home as I am sending her only for 2 half days. Otherwise I would have been a bit more serious regarding this matter.

Ingredients:

Rice flour………….1 cup

All-purpose flour…..1/2 cup

Yogurt/curd……………2 cups (should be a bit sour).

Baking soda……………1/2 tsp

Salt………………………….to taste

Carrots……………………2(grated)

Onion……………………….1 (small) chopped

Green chilies………………3 chopped (omit this for children)

Oil……………………………..to deep fry

Method:

1. Mix all the ingredients with curd, water (if needed).The batter should be thick (so that we can be able to drop little balls in hot oil).

2. Heat oil in a pan.

3. Drop the batter into small balls using hand or spoon.

4. Fry till they turn golden brown drain and remove onto tissue paper.

5. Serve hot with ginger chutney or groundnut chutney.

Note: These taste better if the batter is prepared 3o mins prior to making them.As our curd will not be that sour that we get in India. And they even soak a bit and tastes good.

8 responses to this post.

  1. they look abs. divine
    never heard of htese b4
    surely tastes great with ginger chutney 😉
    thx for the recipe…….vl try sometime

    Reply

  2. looks delicious bhajje with vege thats cool.

    Reply

  3. Wow. Looks cool. All the best for the kiddo for the pre-school.

    Reply

  4. Yummmm…looks very nice. Carrots kind of bahjia.. i never tried this. I am going to try this one for sure!!

    Reply

  5. I have never heard of carrot in a deep-fried recipe. Looks absolutely delicious.

    Reply

  6. wow, what a different recipe~ this I’d like to try out for the kids, they are like little bunny rabbits, always eating carrots!

    🙂

    Reply

  7. Hi ramya
    nice lay out.the punugulu are really wonderfull!!thanks for letting me to taste.:-)

    Reply

  8. hi,
    This is new to me. This punugulu looks yummy and delicious. Thanks for this tasty and healthy snack.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

