Crescent Samosa Rolls



As a kid I always loved eating samosas. Well who don’t love eating them? When I go down through my memory lane samosas are part of my life. It’s a very nice snack to eat out. I never tried making them at home. I still remember my college days we ate the huge hot samosas in our college canteen. I wish we can again go and sit in the canteen and eat with friends. And when we are staying in Hyderabad my hubby dear pampered me bringing samosas almost every day while returning from office (he sure does know my tastes).Ahh……….those golden brown colour and the curry in it is sure a treat for jihva. We cannot stop eating them. But the thing I don’t like is the deep frying in samosas. Then I thought to bake. With what? I had crescent rolls handy and gave it a try. Though these r fake samosas and this is just an attempt to make them. We loved the beauties. Hope u too will love them. As this is made of crescent dough it taste entirely different. But it’s a good change once in a while. U can make this with puff pastry also. That will be another post. I am saving it.

Preparation time:40 mins

Ingredients:

Crescent rolls…………………1(Pillsbury preferred)

Potatoes………………………4 big (boiled and cut into pieces)

Onion……………………………1 big (chopped)

Peas…………………………….1 cup

Coriander leaves……………1 fistful

Green chillis…………………………3(chopped)

Ginger-garlic paste……………..1 tsp

Garam masala……………1/2 tsp

Chat masala……………….1/2 tsp

Turmeric………………………..1/4 tsp

Red chilli powder…………1/2 tsp

Lemon juice………………..2 tsp

Salt ………………………….to taste

Oil…………………………….2 tsp

Method:


Making stuffing:

  1. Boil potatoes and cut into pieces. Chop onions, coriander and green chillis.
  2. Now in a pan heat table spoon oil add chopped onions and green chillis. Let them fry and add gingergarlic paste.
  3. Add the potatoes and salt, turmeric mix well.Now add garam masala,chat masala, red chilli powder,lemon juice.
  4. Let it fry for 2 mins add lemon juice and remove from heat.

Making Rolls:

  1. Open the crescent rolls dough as directed and u get eight triangles.
  2. Now place the stuffing in the middle and roll as u feel comfortable or as shown in pictures.
  3. Now place the rolls on greased aluminum foil or tray.
  4. Place in preheated oven at 350 c and bake for 20 mins or till they turn golden brown.

Serve hot with tomato ketchup or green chutney.

15 responses to this post.

  1. yum… can never resist samosas…

    Reply

  2. Hi.. never though of using cresent rolls for Samosa, a very nice idea!! The samosas look yummy!!

    Reply

  3. thats my kind of samosas, no deep frying and u can eat them w/o feeling guilty 😉 …have u tried using puff pastry rolls?

    Reply

  4. hai roopa,
    yup those r really yummy.

    hai cinnamon,
    I bet those r goodies and even healthy.

    Hai sia,
    Yup they r not oil free but 2 tsp of oil thats it.and done.And i didnot i tried with paratha the frozen ready to cook paratha and they turned out well.next time i will try with puff pastry also.

    Thank u all for leaving comments.

    Reply

  5. great idea!

    Reply

  6. Good one. I will keep this in mind to make next time. Infact, I have some in the fridge.

    Reply

  7. nice and easy way of making samosas…:)

    Reply

  8. Hi Ramya,I have a crescent roll can right now in the fridge.How easy and creative samosas.Great ,thanks:)

    Reply

  9. Roopa, those look yummy!

    Reply

  10. Hi Saju,
    thank u so much.

    Hi Lata,
    yup go ahead and make them u never regret them.

    Hi Bhags,
    thank u very much.

    Hi Asha,
    Thank u for commenting.tell how they r when u make them.:)

    Hi Dee,
    Thank u and Oops………..my name is ramya not roopa. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I love Samosas! These look delicious!

    Reply

  12. hey Ramya, I too make these and they are a great snack. you have a nice blog.

    Reply

  13. WOW! Thats a nice way indeed! 🙂

    Reply

  14. As you say who wouldn’t love samosas…and yours love yummy..

    Srivalli
    http://www.cooking4allseasons.blogspot.com

    Reply

  15. hi nice blog and nice recipes

    Reply

Leave a Reply

