Poori Bhaji with a twist of Egg


This is for “A Mad Tea Party’s” Poori Bhaji Party. Hope I am not late. Though I made them I was not able to take photos of them. Now I again made them for just me and my daughter (well R has gone to office and takes his box) J .My Mom used to make them very often for Sunday breakfast or call them brunches. I was the one who pressed lot of pooris in the poori maker (well I am greedy as I would get one extra poori). Even if I am not able to eat them I want that extra poori. Well now-a-days we don’t make them being health conscious and all and looking how much oil it takes (well if made perfect it don’t take too much oil). May be once a month. But the day we make them we have them to heart. As I told earlier I made these for lunch all within a span of 15mins.

Preparation time: 5mins

Cooking time: 10mins

Ingredients:

Onion…………………1 big cut lengthwise

Green chillies……………2 cut lengthwise

Potatoes………………………2 big

Egg………………………………1

Gramflour……………………1 tsp

Salt…………………………….to taste

Red chilli powder…………..1 tsp

Turmeric powder…………..1/2 tsp

Water……………………………1 cup

Tempering:

Oil…………………1 tsp

Red chillies…………1

Mustard seeds………1/4 tsp

Cumin seeds…………1/4 tsp

Curry leaves……….4

Method:

1. In a pressure pan heat oil and add all the tempering ingredients one by one. Let them splutter. Add onions and green chillies let them fry.

2. Now add potatoes and all the ingredients except egg and gram flour should go in. cover and cook for 2 whistles.

3. Mean while mix the poori dough and keep it in fridge.

4. Now take off the whistle and cover check the water if u want can add some more now in a tsp of water mix gram flour and add it to the bhaji

and now add one egg let it stay before mixing till it gets thick now mix well mashing the egg into little balls.

5. That’s it it’s done.


Now coming to Pooris:

  1. Wheat flour, Salt to taste, Water mix all together and add a little oil to coat at the end. Keep it in fridge till u r ready to make. Pooris will turn out well if u make them within 5mins or 10mins if u have to wait keep in fridge (not for long). I made them right away.
  2. Make balls out the dough and roll them round with 4 or 6 inch diameter (as u wish depending on ur pan size)
  3. Heat oil in pan to deep fry the pooris. The oil should be hot and poori should raise once u drop it in oil.turn around and heat till u get light gold brown drain and remove. You get nice pluffy pooris.

Enjoy them hot.

14 responses to this post.

  1. That looks cool with addition on egg!

    Reply

  2. Ooh! I love your Bhaji too with Egg,my kids would love that! Thanks sweetie.
    I never thought of that before. Pooris looks yum too.You are right,if made correctly,it doesn’t absorb much oil.Once a month,eating these is quite okay.We shouldn’t deprive ourselves too much!:)
    This event is on until 19th,so you are on time!:)

    Reply

  3. I like you trial with eggs!

    Reply

  4. you have just made me sooooooo hungry. Looks so delish

    Reply

  5. And what an interesting twist! Never had egg in the bhaji!
    Thanks for making these again and joining the party, Ramya.

    Reply

  6. OH!! Puri bhaji with a twist!! 🙂 Thats cool!!

    Reply

  7. Congrats! you received an award, check my blog for details

    Reply

  8. Thats a nice twist though.

    Reply

  9. 2 friends has been posted poori, pleasee am really tempting to have it now 😀

    Reply

  10. […] (Malabar Spices) I (A Mad Tea Party) SK Nandita (Saffron Trail) Asha (Aroma) Indira (Mahanandi) Ramya (Aromas of Food) ET (Evolving Tastes) TBC (The Budding Cook) Bee and Jai (Jugalbandi) Prajakta (Swaypakghar) Coffee […]

    Reply

  11. You make that in 15 min? Wow! You are good:-). the bhaji is different from the ones I’ve heard of before. So it’s basically a poached egg & u just mix it?

    Reply

  12. Never heard of eggs in the bhaji! Good idea, I’d like to try.

    Reply

  13. Thank you for the great recipe. Eggs are such a comfort food—add them with the poori, and they are extra good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

