Gaarelu(uddin vada) ,Mavinakayi pulihora for my little Ganesha


My Ganesh chaturthi went well and now I am out of the hangover of the festival. Not only Ganesha was filled with festive foods but we also stuffed some ourselves. Making us a heavier than before. If we r feeling like this then how would have poor little Ganesha have felt with all those tempting food from all over the world who are celebrating this festival. I can’t imagine. Just you guys think once. So for this Ganesh chaturthi my menu is a little big than every year. I was able to photograph only these two as I forgot the semiya payasam and undraallu in the photograph. And for lunch including all these neivedyam we had rice, dal palak(paala kura pappu),tindora fry(dondakaaya vepudu),papads. See how much food I stuffed into myself and my family. But we were busy in eating somuch that we forgot taking pics and while starting I took a pic and that came to my rescue. This is my entry to RCI KARANATAKA Hosted by dear ASHA of FOODIE’S HOPE uddin vada as they and we call as gaarelu both r same but names r different. We south Indians have some similar dishes which are exactly same. And Mamidikaya pulihora as we call and in Karnataka they call mavinikaya chitranna. So these are my entries for RCI . For more info about RCI karnataka.

Uddin Vada (Gaarelu):

Ingredients:

Urad dal……………..2 cups

Ginger………………1 inch

Green chillies……..3 no

Salt……………………to taste

Oil………………………for deep frying

Method:

  1. Take all the ingredients in a blender add water if needed to blend but the batter should be thick than mashed potato. Maybe 3 to 4 tbsp of water will do not more than that.
  2. Add salt and mix well.
  3. In a pan add oil for deep frying.
  4. Take aluminum foil or ziplock cover that fits in ur hand and brush some water on it with ur hand.
  5. Then take the batter form into a ball and place on the sheet spread it little and make a hole in between looks like donut.
  6. Now deep fry this in oil that is already hot.
  7. Turn once and remove when both sides are golden brown in colour.

Note:

1. If u use mortar and pestle as we use in at home these will be very good and even in blender the batter is made good. Don’t add too much water as u don’t get them to form a shape nor will be able to drop it in oil. But while shaping it u should immerse ur hand in water and brush the plastic cover with water.

2. If we add onions to this batter it’s call ulli gaarelu or ulli vada.

Maminikaayi Chitraannam (Pulihora):

Ingredients:

Mango………………..1 (remove the skin and scrape it into pieces)

Rice……………………..2 cups .

Salt……………………..to taste

Turmeric…………….1/2 tsp

Tadka:

Oil………………………..2tsp

Red chillies…………….1

Mustard seeds……….1/2 tsp

Urad dal…………………1 tsp

Chana dal……………….1 tsp

Peanuts……………………fist full

Green chillies……………4 split lengthwise

Curry leaves…………….4-5

Method:

  1. Wash the rice and cook well and cool the rice in a plate so that the rice doesn’t stick together. Add salt and turmeric to the rice.
  2. Now scrape the mango and keep aside.
  3. In a pan add oil and one by one all the tadka ingredients in the order and let them fry till they turn golden brown now add mango and let it cook for 1 or 2 mins.
  4. Add the above mixture to the cooled rice and mix well.
  5. If needed u can add salt, turmeric

Note: I used rice cooker measuring cup and rice cooker I used ½ cup less water for my rice.

19 responses to this post.

  1. YUMMO!! I bet your little Ganapati is very happy!:)

    Reply

  2. ummmhaa! I like Mango pulihora anytime….love that tangy tickling on my taste busds…chala baagundi

    Reply

  3. Mango rice goes to my to-do list!

    Reply

  4. MMM Vada looks wonderful.

    Reply

  5. Lord Ganesha must have surely enjoyed:)

    Reply

  6. HI,

    Garelu look so yum and perfect..:D… I made undrallu, garelu and payasam on Ganesh Chaturthi..:).. and I am sure ur Ganesha wud have been stuffed too.. with these delicacies..

    Reply

  7. Thats a good 2 in one for both Ganesh chaturti and RCI!:)

    Reply

  8. hmm havent had mango puliyore. must be tangy 🙂

    Reply

  9. Mango pulihora, love the tangy tasting rice. Garelu look perfect pieces to gulp down right now…..Lord Ganesha must have been very happy with you….happy Ganesh chaturthi

    Reply

  10. Both look very good.. am sure Lord ganesha was very happy.

    Reply

  11. Looks delicious. I don’t deep fry at home but I could really enjoy some of your vadas!

    Reply

  12. Looks spongy and tempting. Nice combo

    Reply

  13. Hi Ramya,

    You can get the recipes for paneer butter masala from the below links….both are excellent…

    http://cooking4allseasons.blogspot.com/2007/06/paneer-butter-masala.html
    http://cooking4allseasons.blogspot.com/2007/07/butter-paneer-masala.html

    srivalli

    Reply

  14. lovely recipe I wish I could grab some out that picture! 🙂

    Reply

  15. Even though I grew up eating a lot of Indian food in Malaysia, I feel that I only scratch the surface after reading Indian food blogs…

    Reply

  16. Uddina vada and the mango pulihora looks delicious.

    Reply

  17. garellu noru ooruthunayi…Look Yumm 🙂

    Reply

  18. Looks so yummy !!

    Reply

  19. very nice recipe………….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

