Lemon Rice (Chitrannam)

082907-0703-1.jpg    

This is my entry for JFI Rice hosted by Sharmi of Neivedyam this month. Brain child of Indira Mahanandi.This is a great event. After trying this and that I have settled for simple lemon rice which is easy to prepare and nice way of using ur leftover rice as well. With all those dishes we can make with rice. I feel this is easy one. And can be made in a jiffy. I have to say that this is different from what we make normally. After hearing my husband I said what? Onions in lemon rice? I added onion to the tadka so it gave a little different taste to the rice which is not typical lemon rice we have in Andhra. But it tasted really good. Well my husband loves it this way and he says in Karnataka they prepare lemon rice this way but I have no idea about it. Well wherever it may originate from the taste is good and we loved it. Well it tasted good.

Ingredients:

Rice………………..1 cup

Lemon…………….1 big

Salt…………………to taste

Turmeric………….1/4 tsp

Tadka:

Mustard seeds………..1/2 tsp

Red chilies……………….2

Chana dal………………1/2 tbsp

Urad dal………………..1/2 tbsp

Curry leaves……………..4

Ginger ………………………cut into small pieces

Peanuts………………….fist full

Green chilies…………2-3 cut lengthwise

Onion……………………..1/2 cut lengthwise

Oil………………………….2 tbsp

Method:

  1. Cook the rice and let it cool.
  2. Now mix lemon juice, salt and turmeric into the rice mix well without breaking the rice.
  3. Keep aside.
  4. Now in a pan add oil and red chilies, mustard seeds, chana dal, urad dal, curry leaves, ginger, peanuts, green chilies, onions.
  5. Fry till onions r soft and peanuts and chana dal, urad dal turn golden brown.
  6. Now mix the tadka to the rice and again mix well.
  7. That’s it finished in a jiffy.

Good for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. As you wish. Great way to use leftover rice.

And last but not the least I too got an award. I am Rocking girl. Thank u Padma.


Now after I got this award I would like to give it out to all my blogger freinds.Everyone deserves it. As we all strive to make difference in our own sense in bringing out the variety of posts whatever it may be in. 

14 responses to this post.

  1. Congrats for your award, Ramya. Lemon rice has got the perfect colour…good one for the entry

    Reply

  2. Hi ramya, congrats for vthose awards! First time in your blog. Nice knowing you!
    Lemon rice recipe is good.

    Reply

  3. Have you seen my Chitranna, a Karnataka delight? 🙂
    Your hubby is right,we do add add onions and coconut to this too. Great entry.
    Enjoy the award and don’t forget RCI Karnataka!;D

    Reply

  4. Hi Ramya, great minds! I have another rice coming up, slightly different ingredients but looks same…that picture is super…and you rock girl!

    Reply

  5. Hi…..lemon rice is looking amzing….mouthwatering recipe….nice picture….

    Reply

  6. Congrats on the award!
    I too add onions to this when I make it.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Maninas on 1, August 29, 2007 at 11:00 am

    this sounds beautiful, and has some really interesting flavours in it! I shall have to make it! 🙂

    Reply

  8. thanks for sharing this..never had lemon rice with onions.. should try it out…

    Reply

  9. gime a plate of lemon rice with yogurt and i am a very happy person:)

    Reply

  10. Looks delicious. And well done for the award!

    Reply

  11. I made lemon rice today:) its real simple, easy and stisfying right?

    Reply

  12. hmmmm really i like the flavour of lemon rice, very good and delicous 😉

    Reply

  13. Congrats Ramya.

    Reply

  14. Love Lemon rice….delicious !

    Reply

Leave a comment